Principals of Music Award

Do you know a really great Principal who made a positive difference in your school music program?

Every year, the Coalition for Music Education recognizes exemplary principals in Canada for their leadership and support of music programs in their schools – one recipient from each region (Eastern, Central and Western), as well as an award sponsored by the National Arts Centre for a recipient in Nunavut. The awards acknowledge the important role that administrators play in ensuring that music programs thrive. In addition to national recognition, each Principal receives a cash award of $1,500 to be applied to their school music program.

The Principals of Music Awards are presented annually in honour of Mr. George Bishop, one of the founders and the first Executive Director of the Coalition and are supported by contributions from the music industry in Canada.

Nominations now open!

The deadline for nominations is November 7th, 2015. Winners will be announced on November 30, 2015.

Principals of Music Awards Winners (2014-2015)

Sheldon Hoyt (Barnwell, AB), Lorraine Harnum (Dildo, NL ), and Debbie Linkewich (Markham, ON).

Principals of Music Awards Winners (2013)

Michelle Armishaw (Sydney River, NS), Jane Couch (Winnipeg, MB), Tracey MacMillan (Iqaluit, NU), and Anthony McGrath (Concord, ON)