As part of the Y4M network, the Coalition for Music Education has created the NUFSICISUM award. This special award is in honour of Phil Nimmons, Canada’s oldest working jazz music educator.

Who can win a NUFSICISUM award?
Nominees must be students attending a Canadian institution. A NUFSICISUM award will be given to students who have made a special positive impact in their school music program.

What Will The Winner Receive?
The winner will receive a cash reward of $200, along with a plaque. They will also be invited to a Coalition event to be recognized by community members and educators.


Part of the Youth4Music program, the NUFSICISUM award is granted to youth who make a difference for music in their school through music, and are leaders in their communities.

2017 Winners

  • Chelsea Atkinson (Springhill, NS) 
  • Cara Callahan (Spaniard’s Bay, NL)
  • Tom Davis (Vancouver, BC)
  • Sophie Hicks (Dorchester, ON)
  • Benjamin Hill (Grimshaw, AB)
  • Jessica Liu (Montreal, QC)

2016 Winners

  • Shana Brown, Woodland Elementary School (Dildo, NL)
  • James Klassen, River East Collegiate (Winnipeg, MB)
  • Hannah Carruthers, Silver Creek Public School (Georgetown, ON)
  • Kyle Orlando, Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School (Grimsby, ON)
  • Shannon Huston, Norkam Senior Secondary School (Kamloops, BC)

2015 Winners

  • Shannon McLaren, Vancouver Technical Secondary School (Vancouver, BC)
  • Stephanie Staibano, Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic School (Toronto, ON)
  • Nhi Trinh-Le, York Memorial C.I (Toronto, ON)
  • Samantha Lavin, York House School (Vancouver, BC)
  • Rachel Copreros, Eldorado Public School (Brampton, ON)

2014 Winners

  • Brent Cater, Keswick High School (Keswick, ON)
  • Nick Johnson, Kwantlen Park & Greater Vancouver Youth Music Academy (Surrey, BC)

Do you know someone in your school that has made a significant difference to your music program? Tell us about them and what they’ve done?