Music Monday

Music Monday is an annual initiative that brings together thousands of students, musicians, parents and community members across the country to celebrate the gift of music in our lives, on the same day at the same time.

Launched in 2005 by The Coalition for Music Education, Music Monday is the world’s largest single event dedicated to raising awareness for music education. Each year, hundreds of thousands of students, educators, and music makers participate in a simultaneous nationwide concert performance of an original song written by a Canadian artist.

Everybody. Although it often begins with students, teachers and their surrounding community, Music Monday also includes community groups, politicians, professional organizations, music industry, ensembles, and artists.

It is a full day of celebration, always on the first Monday of May.  In 2016, Music Monday is on May 2nd. A magical moment happens at the same point during that day, that is, at 9 am Pacific time, 10 am Mountain time, 11 am Central time, 12 pm Eastern time and 1 pm Atlantic time, and 1:30 in Newfoundland, when students, community groups, musicians and artists right across the country are united by one piece of music.

Across the country and around the world. We encourage you to take your music to the fields and to the streets on this wondrous occasion. The idea is that if one were to open the front door of his or her home and stand on the street on the first Monday in May, one would hear music and the skies would be filled with melody.


  • Music matters!
  • Music programs create vital communities!
  • Learning music leads to success in life
  • Our young people deserve the benefits from learning, creating and making music!
  • Canada’s heritage and cultural future is in our classrooms!

  • untitled (399 of 426)
  • 919898_10151506622097928_1508010198_o
  • 965915_10151506623982928_319016012_o
  • 966947_10151506621762928_390702154_o
  • 5739865185_cdbb691c72_b
  • IMG_9708
  • P1010549-CrBrandonWallis
  • Choir at NAC2

Join the mission and add to the crescendo of voices that believe music education is a national priority.